Raj Bhavan: Assam Press Release No. 20

Chief Electoral Officer submits list of newly elected MLAs to Governor

Guwahati, May 4: Chief Electoral Officer, Assam Nitin Khade today met Assam Governor Prof. Jagdish Mukhi and submitted the Notification for the election of 126 MLAs of Assam Legislative Assembly and handed it over to him. He submitted the Notification duly signed by the Senior Principal Secretary, Election Commission of India Narendra N. Butolia.

It may be noted that in pursuance of the notifications issued by the Governor of Assam on 2, 5 and 12 March 2021 respectively under the Representation of People Act, 1951 General Election was held for the purpose of constituting new Legislative Assembly for the state of Assam and the results of the election in all the constituencies were declared.

Moreover, the Election Commission of India through a communiqué has also lifted Model Code of Conduct imposed in view of the General Election to the State Legislative Assembly.

PRO 4.5.2021