SI No.	Name of Governor	Tenure
1	Sir Muhammad Saleh Akbar Hydari	15 August 1947 – 28 December 1948
2	Shri Ronald Francis Lodge (Acting)	30 December 1948 – 16 February 1949
3	Sri Prakasa	16 February 1949 – 27 May 1950
4	Shri Jairamdas Daulatram	27 May 1950 – 15 May 1956
5	Shri Saiyid Fazal Ali	15 May 1956 – 22 August 1959
6	Shri Chandreswar Prasad Sinha	23 August 1959 – 14 October 1959
7	General (Retired) Satyavant Mallannah Shrinagesh	14 October 1959 – 12 November 1960

8	Shri Vishnu Sahay	12 November 1960 – 13 January 1961
9	General (Retired) Satyavant Mallannah Shrinagesh	13 January 1961 – 7 September 1962
10	Shri Vishnu Sahay	7 September 1962 – 17 April 1968
11	Shri Braj Kumar Nehru	17 April 1968 – 19 September 1973
12	Justice P. K. Goswami (acting for Nehru)	8 December 1970 – 4 January 1971
13	Shri Lallan Prasad Singh	19 September 1973 – 10 August 1981

14	Shri Prakash Mehrotra	10 August 1981 – 28 March 1984
15	Justice Tribeni Sahai Misra	28 March 1984 – 15 April 1984
16	Shri Bhishma Narain Singh	15 April 1984 – 10 May 1989
17	Shri Harideo Joshi	10 May 1989 – 21 July 1989
18	Justice Anisetti Raghuvir	21 July 1989 – 2 May 1990
19	Justice Devi Das Thakur	2 May 1990 – 17 March 1991
20	Shri Loknath Mishra	17 March 1991 – 1 September 1997

21	Lt. General (Retired) Srinivas Kumar Sinha	1 September 1997 – 21 April 2003
22	Shri Arvind Dave	21 April 2003 – 5 June 2003
23	Lt. General (Retired) Ajai Singh	5 June 2003 – 4 July 2008
24	Shri Shiv Charan Mathur	4 July 2008 – 25 June 2009
25	Shri K Sankaranarayanan	26 June 2009 – 27 July 2009
26	Shri Syed Sibtey Razi	27 July 2009 – 10 November 2009
27	Shri Janaki Ballabh Patnaik	11 November 2009 – 11 December 2014

28	Shri Padmanabha Balakrishna Acharya	December 2014 – 17 August 2016
29	Shri Banwarilal Purohit	22 August 2016 – 10 October 2017
30	Prof. Jagdish Mukhi	10 October , 2017 – 14 February, 2023
31	Shri Gulab Chand Kataria	15 February, 2023 - Incumbent